top of page
Temple Sinai’s Men’s Club has been the recipient of many awards and in turn, bestows awards to outstanding members and their families.

Quality Club Award

The FJMC presents the Quality Club Award to affiliates who offer a variety of activities at the local level and who participate in regional and FJMC programs. Each year approximately 20% of the clubs apply for this award. In 2012 Temple Sinai Men’s Club was awarded the Quality Club designation for the 6th consecutive year. We are one of only 19 clubs to receive this designation every year since the award’s inception.


Joseph A. Fine Memorial Award

In 1976, the “Joseph A. Fine Memorial Award” was established to be presented to a member of our club “for outstanding service to Judaism and synagogue as exemplified by our beloved Past President.” Each year the Joseph A. Fine Memorial Award Honoree is announced at the Temple Sinai Annual Meeting in May. The recipient is also honored at the Middle Atlantic Region - Federation of Jewish Men's Club's Man of The Year Dinner held in December. Our honoree for 2012 is Dr. Kenneth Zeitzer. Ken was president of the Men’s Club from 2001-2003 where he was instrumental in engaging more members and increasing overall participation. Ken served on the Synagogue Board of Directors, on the executive committee as secretary, as chairperson of the religious committee, as the chartered organization representative for Temple Sinai Boy Scout Troop 665. He has been on the Board of Directors of MAR since 2010. Ken and his wife Randi, were married at Temple Sinai and have been members since 1990. His children Ryan and Ilana grew up in and around the synagogue, attending our Religious School, participating in scouts and in USY. On most Shabbat mornings you will find Ken playing an essential role at services, serving both on the bimah, as Gabbai and in the kitchen preparing his world-renowned egg salad.

Norman Samiloff Scholarship Fund

Norman Samiloff was President of our Men's Club and was "Sunshine Secretary" for more than 10 years. As Sunshine Secretary, he sent personal notes and cards celebrating birthdays and anniversary cards to all our Men's Club members on a daily basis. Later, Cy Listman and Sid Feinberg continued this tradition. The Norman Samiloff Memorial fund was established to create an endowment for the Sunshine Secretary and over the years this fund has grown. In 2012, Jack Fishman decided that we could do more with the fund and he did. With the board’s approval, Jack created the Norman Samiloff Scholarship award, which is presented to an outstanding student each year. Our first recipient of the Noman Samiloff Scholarship Award is Jennifer Sher. Jennifer has been attending Temple Sinai, starting in our pre-school at the age of 4. She sings in Cantor Freedman’s Junior and now Adult choirs and has been an active member of the Temple Sinai Players for the past 7 years. Jennifer is a senior at William Tennent High School and at Gratz Hebrew High graduating both this June. At Tennent, she participated in the Marching Band Color Guard for 4 years. Jennifer will continue her studies in Elementary Education, beginning at Bucks County Community College this fall and then at West Chester University.

bottom of page